Story of the smile

Ever had one of those days where you keep smiling the whole day simply because of something said or done to you in the morning? It may be that text or phone call or breakfast or some killer smile from who knows. Spotting some eye candy also makes it to the list you know. Quite often even a football game is bound to make one’s day. (I had to put that in there for the sake of the boys reading this who may want to leave here already. I promise, there’s more football coming up, stay with me boys). On such like days, nothing really gets to your guts despite the number of provocations you might come across. Heck you can even tip the conductor if you’re taking a jav.(I find some, if not most conductors, QUITE ANNOYING so understand me when I say that tipping them shows a sign of having a really good day) Last week on Friday I had such a day, and no,I didn’t tip anyone though. None of the above reasons was the cause but it was simply because I woke up to the news that our one and only house boy had been arrested by the cops the previous night.:) Don’t look at me that way, you are just about to understand why.

Victor is the name of our house boy who has quite a personality. I personally find him very mysterious. One, he is extremely shy. He can’t look me in the eye whenever I talk to him and he always whispers back. Well maybe for me it might be an exception, he may have been threatened by my father not to get close to me, or those things that a father would threaten a house boy with concern to his daughter.(I don’t know what they are) The extreme of his shyness however comes in when even talking to my dad, or my mother or even my three brothers, he looks down. Even when asked a question, he smiles and whispers back. Who does that? I know he has a loud voice and that’s because he’s only free with my littu brother(who’s in boarding school). All they talk about is football, and Arsenal and Man-U and Walcott, well maybe not Walcott I just had to put his name in this blog. Theo Walcott 🙂 (Boys, see I kept my promise of writing more on football) Anyway so the irony of this Victor boy is that he has a mohawk. Yes that’s right. I mean, I tend to think that people in Mohawks are loud and confident and most importantly, not shy. I have some friends in mohawks and they are nothing close to shy. So you can imagine the sight of a boy in a mohawk who whispers and smiles at the floor when talked to. He also listens to crunk and RnB. Quite a combination don’t you think?

Aside from being shy, he is also spoilt, according to me. He had this particular habit of preparing dinner very early, latest by 7:30 p.m. After he prepares the supper, he’d then disappear to some place outside the estate, unknown to us members of the family. Since I’m in charge of the food arrangements in the house, I’m the one who’s given the cash to sort out all meals. Anytime I’d reach with the food to be cooked past 7:00 p.m, Victor wouldn’t be around so I was the one to cook the supper. That habit used to get on my nerves a lot, but hey, I’m not the boss of him. When I took that matter to the high table, (my dad) he just told me that I should be taking the food home early enough(by that, by 6:30 latest) Mkubwa akishasema amesema so for about two weeks I did just that. Spoilt much, this Victor boy. He used to hang out with his boys until late in the night and then come back home. My mum had warned him a couple of times but since she’s not usually around home most of the time, Victor of course would personalize the “paka akiondoka” saying. I feel like I’m writing a composition entitled ‘Our Houseboy’ So let me dive straight to the point why he was arrested.

He was found loitering around outside the estate with his tu friends at 10:00 p.m. I guess they all have mohawks and listen to crunk and RnB. So since they didn’t have ID’s they were caught. If I were him I’d break into Sauti sol’s ‘blue uniform’. He should have called me for advice, he should have called. But since he didn’t. I’m guessing alipigwa ngeta then akaambiwa ‘pita kipande hii’ My biggest brother really knows how to imitate Kenyan police. T’m also guessing they were many guys in that van or shoe box type of cars of theirs. From then on, whatever happened to him is a mystery but I shall know when he tells his story to my small brother. Not that I’m teaching my littu brother to gossip, I’m just saying that Walls have ears. Must have been a rough night for him, he must have remembered my mum’s words, he must have made some life changing decisions and I’m sure he must have also wanted his mum to be there.

At around 6:20 a.m, the following day, my dad received a phone call from Victor telling him how he’s in the Industrial area police station. At 6:30 a.m, my dad breaks the news to me and my bro. We all laugh, life is hard. My dad went to ‘bail’ him out. It’s sad how Kenya is still very corrupt especially the police. But like our very own Dela sings, ‘mwenye nguvu mpishe’

The fact that he got taught the hard way made me happy because he was ignorant and spoilt for a long time. I smiled because I knew my mum would make fun of the situation, which she did. I smiled also because I knew that I would now take the supper home at any time and not be the one to cook it. I smiled because that evening when I looked at him and greeted him, in my head I was like ‘welcome to Nairobi chief’ He made me smile the whole day

Leave a comment