Disown the words.

Allow me not to use words, for they may fail to express what I feel.

Let the spark in my eye, that only comes when I see you speak what I feel.

Let my heart beat, that increases in rate when I hug you speak what I feel.

Let the unfading smile that I wear when I talk to you speak what I feel.

See that prayer for you that is neatly tucked in an envelope en route to heaven, the one in which I ask God to fulfill your desires, let it speak what I feel.

The way my body wiggles when I laugh at your jokes, let that show what I feel for you.

Let the slight beatings I give you not confuse you, no I’m not violent, but when my hand lands on your shoulder, let it speak a language of my emotion.

So darling, don’t ask me what it is I feel for you, because in words, I might spell love while it really is just like. Darling, don’t ask me what it is I feel for you, because in words, I might spell like while it really is love. The words, they might fail me, so tonight, just read my smile because I choose to disown the words.

2 responses to “Disown the words.

Leave a comment