Happy (middle) Endings.

You know how people(read parents) think that spending the whole day watching movies/series is a complete waste of time? Well I beg to differ. I prefer series to movies because of detailed scripts, and somehow you feel like you’re part of those in the series. For instance, when watching prison break, I felt like Scorfield &Lincoln were my brothers. When it came to One Tree Hill, Hailey was my bestie I’m not even kidding. This past weekend I opted to stay indoors. This weather has become an enemy, reason one. Reason two, sometime last week, my little brother told me that he’d seen a certain Mr. Mouse do a Bolt sprint into my room. So for the weekend I was going to be *drum rolls* Mrs. Terminator, or Rambo if you like. Picture me standing on bed with a broomstick, hitting the floor. Fortunately Mr. Mouse was no where to be seen. The next thing I did was soak myself in series, and this is what I learned :Happy endings come in the middle.

As I reflected on that, it made much sense to me. You know how in life you always pursue something hoping that it will give you a happy ending? Well, the happiness that you’ve longed for is always somewhere in the middle stage. In my case, last week was thoroughly bizarre to me. It reached a point where I was aloof and from my smiles, sadness was heavily pronounced. I did not know what it was that God was doing in my life, talk about darkness and oblivion. Fights with dad, anger, tears. Harsh exchange of words with sibling, anger, tears. Wars with self, anger, tears. Less prayers, more tears, darkness.

(If you are a first time visitor in this blog, you could take a look at a post titled ‘Handsome Caleb’ where I wrote about Caleb, a young handsome 16 year old boy battling with Leukemia.)

Fast forward to last week Wednesday morning, I receive a text saying that Caleb had gone to rest that previous night. That right there was the epitome of my sadness. Loosing someone who you are emotionally attached to is a big deal. More so, my heart ached for his mother and sisters. She’d forever lost a son and the girls lost their brother. I felt bad for his dad and brothers. More tears, darkness.

Right now, Caleb is in paradise, in a painless state, probably wishing that we do not soak ourselves in pain over his passing on. His happy ending came right in the middle of many of our intimate prayers. In the middle of hopes. Today, handsome Caleb is being laid to rest. Rest in peace handsome, your happy ending came in the middle of an intimate prayer.

Leave a comment